Close this search box.

End-of-Year Events: Athletic Banquet & Class Night

Randolph-Macon Academy’s Class of 2015 might have been small, but their accomplishments were great. Comprised of 59 seniors and two postgraduates, the Class of 2015 earned 228 college acceptances to 140 different colleges and universities, and received nearly $6.7 million in college scholarship offers. In addition, the five Falcon Scholars who attended the school this year each earned an appointment to the Air Force Academy.

Amidst the events held May 28-30, 2015, was an atmosphere of celebration and friendship that past R-MA graduating classes will remember well. The Class of 2015 shed tears as they recalled shared memories and prepared to say their final farewells.  

Here are a few of the highlights of the weekend:

Athletic Banquet

The seniors received plaques and the award winners in each sport received their honors as well. Amy Gray ’15, Tyler Vaughan ’15, and Austin Lee ’15 each spoke at the event.

Class Night

For Jacob Dodson ‘15, Class Night on May 28th was certainly the highlight of the week as he addressed his fellow students as salutatorian and was named Best All-Around Cadet. Class President Natalie Pendie also spoke to her classmates.

Congratulations to the Class Night Award winners:


Private Pilot Licenses: Michael Grieg, James Christoph, Teunis Verhuel, Jeff Wilson, Tommy Yu

Naval Academy Foundation Appointment: Ixel Ochoa

Army ROTC Scholarship: Erik Koontz

United States Air Force Academy Appointments: Michael Grieg, Anthony Vaccaro, Vito Valenzuela, David Warfel, Jeffrey Wilson

Scholastic Excellence Award: Sandi James

Distinguished Athlete Award: Austin Lee

The Semper Fidelis Award: Mazrukh Khan

Pat Spears Awards: Junior Mile, Daniel Scarzello; Senior Mile, Erik Koontz

Pat Spears Most Improved Award: Jeffery Collins

The Football Sportsmanship Award: Tyler Vaughan

The Outstanding Sportsman Award: Amy Gray

C. Lyle McFall Coach of the Year: Josh Ilnicki

Randolph-Macon Academy Scholar/Athlete Awards: Amy Gray and Tyler Vaughan

Athletes of the Year: Ixel Ochoa, Tyler Vaughan

Salutatorian: Jacob Dodson

“Cadet in the Arena” – Leadership Award: Natalie Pendie and John Camarella

AFA AFJROTC Award: Jonathan Pederson

James M. Mills Award: Douglas Brennand

Commandant’s Award: Gordon Anderson

Herbert Gray Wyatt Medal: Jacob Dodson

The Outstanding Instrumental Musician Medals: Alexandra Mabry, Evan Kelly, Will Long, Ben Schoonover

John Philip Sousa Band Award: Jacob Dodson

The Outstanding Choral Musician Medals: Khanh Pham, Haoran Zhang, Changkun Zhou

Yearbook Editor Award: Minhua Ma

National Honor Society Certificates: President – Maz Khan, Vice President – Jacob Dodson, Community Service Officer – Xin Ma, Parliamentarian – Ixel Ochoa, Treasurer – Amy Gray

German Medal: Meghan Melberg

Spanish Medal: Eva Bogdewic

Drama Medal: Erik Koontz

Art Medal: Xin Ma

English as a Second Language Medal: Mingyang Chen

English Medal: Amy Gray

Journalism Medal: Meghan Melberg

Math Medal: Tyler Vaughan

Science Medal: Eva Bogdewic

Social Studies Medal: Jonathan Pederson

Kemper History Medal: Tyler Vaughan

Jesse K. Brennan Medal: Lucas Costa

Boyd M Guttery ’45 Humanity Medal: Jacob Dodson

Class President: Natalie Pendie

Sewanee Award for Excellence: Eva Bogdewic

The Daughters of the American Colonists Award: Meghan Melberg

Shenandoah Valley Chapter United States Daughters of 1812: Emma Bunker

Stephen C. Harriman ’82 Outstanding Character Scholarship Award: Ben Hester

The Most Genteel Female Award: Bette Kebede and Chloe Pham

The Most Genteel Male Award: Gordon Anderson

The Athena Award: Xin Ma

The Lincoln Award: Mazrukh Khan

The George M. Wines Most Unselfish Service Award: Amy Gray

The Best All-Around Cadet: Jacob Dodson